Thin Places – Blue Maiden and Burren, feminist materialism

• februari 13, 2018 kl. 6:16 e m #708
    Linda Persson
    Deltagare

Between 5-10th March 2018 the Experimental Heritage project from Sweden will visit Burren in Ireland. Burren is known to be a so called ‘Thin place’, something I have been researching since 2016 after becoming aware of such a term. The ancient pagan Celts, and later, Christians, used the term to describe mesmerising places like the barren isle of Iona (now part of Scotland) or the rocky peaks of Croagh Patrick. A thin place is a place where the boundary between heaven and earth is especially thin. Over the last 8 years or so I have visited peripheral landscapes such as the North Cape and throughout the Northern part of Sweden, Finland and Norway in my engagement with landscapes often heavily mined or through forestry logging and more often than not juxtaposed with sacred places that belongs to ancient and indigenous cultures such as the Sámi people. They use these places for their herding trails and many sacred lands are being disintegrated through other industry. My film work Nuortabealli was a celebration of Sámi woman Elsa Kristoffersson who taught me over a few years about language, myths and sacred /ritual places of the South Lappland country. Nuortabealli is a word in the North Sámi (Sweden side) used to describe the moonlight shadow from east in winter at night.